My Top-10 Classical & Romantic Compositions

Wanted to post something a little different. I quite like classical music but I rarely get to express it anywhere, so here’s just a quick list of some of my favourite Classical (& Romantic Era) compositions.

10. Dance of the Swans by Pyotr Tchaikovsky

Familiar to most as the theme of Dracula (1931), Tchaikovsky’s classic piece from Swan Lake has a nice light and serene feel to it. To be perfectly honest, a lot of Tchaikovsky’s compositions bore me, but this one has great energy despite its slow tempo. Just has a classic feel.

***

9. Ode to Joy by Ludwig von Beethoven

In case you were unaware, Ode to Joy is the anthem of the European Union. It’s a lovely little piece from Beethoven with a really moving violin section. You may have also heard it as the theme of the Eurovision Song Contest.

***

8. Carnival of the Animals, Finale by Camille Saint-Saëns

Here’s a classic little ditty you may have heard in countless classic Warner Bros. and maybe even Disney cartoons (most recently in Fantasia 2000). It’s a happy violin piece and seems to perfectly fit a cartoonish and joyish mood.

***

7. William Tell Overture by Giachino Rossini

Here’s another legendary Classical composition. Rossini’s William Tell Overture immediately makes me think of galloping horses in all its pompous glory. It’s a piece that definitely gets you off your ass to do something.

***

6. Für Elise by Ludwig von Beethoven

Here’s another undeniable classic from Beethoven’s greatest hits. Für Elise might be one of the single most beautiful compositions I’ve ever heard. It immediately puts you in a melancholic and yet sort of happy mood. It’s just pure genius despite its simplicity.

***

5. The Ride of the Valkyries by Richard Wagner

Wagner’s almost hammy Ride of the Valkyries is one of the classics in the “death from above” type of compositions. Used, again, in countless cartoons, movies and TV series, it immediately brings very vivid images of flight or perhaps even marching into your head. Its power and borderline cheesiness make it an excellent and instantly memorable piece.

***

4. Eine Kleine Nachtmusik by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

I love pretty much anything by Mozart, but when I’m forced to pick a favourite composition from him I always tend to draw a blank. Eine Kleine Nachtmusik perhaps stands out in my mind because it’s almost the most “stereotypical” example of what classic music is like. And yet, I really enjoy it. It has a joy and lightness to it despite it’s complexity. And who doesn’t love those opening notes of it?

***

3. Finlandia by Jean Sibelius

My favourite Finnish film is the 1955 classic, The Unknown Soldier (Tuntematon Sotilas), and it’s fitting that the opening theme of the movie should also be my favourite composition from the great Finnish composer Sibelius. It’s filled with a dark energy and a sort of seriousness you associate with Finnish winter. Yet, it also has lighter parts and though it may begin sad, dark and sombre (and even a little over-dramatic) the further you listen, you find more varying elements to it.

Contrary to some people, I don’t believe Finlandia should be the Finnish national anthem, mainly because I think our current one (Maamme – Our Land) is perfectly fine, but also because I think Finlandia is at its best without the lyrics written for it. It’s a masterful piece and one of my favourites.

***

2. Toccata and Fugue in D Minor by Johan Sebastian Bach

Organ music doesn’t really do that much for me, but Bach’s Toccata and Fugue is undeniably awesome. It’s a little long and takes a long time to get started, but it’s one of those pieces that just grabs hold of me and doesn’t let go. My favourite sections are the beginning, the second start-up and the very low-key parts towards the end.

Also, I won’t lie, my love for this piece obviously goes back to my love of the cartoon series Once Upon a Time… Man (Il était une fois… l’homme). I consider the Once Upon a Time version to be the “radio edit” of this classic piece, but it is indeed best enjoyed at its full length.

***

1. 5th Symphony by Ludwig von Beethoven

It’s fair to say that I wouldn’t give classical music the time of day, were it not for Beethoven’s epic 5th Symphony. I’ve loved this piece ever since I discovered a MIDI file of it on our computer when I was 10 and of course I also heard it in the movie Beethoven (about the dog). It’s a dramatic and brilliant piece and perfectly encompasses the reasons I love Beethoven’s music so much. It’s just a joy to the ears and the melodies are always extremely energetic and catchy.

2 Comments

Leave a comment