Lucas Di Grassi wins the 2016-17 Formula E Season

Brazilian driver Lucas Di Grassi has become the third ever champion of the electric Formula E series. Di Grassi clinched the championship at the Montreal circuit this past weekend during a double-race. Winning the Saturday race and by being 7th in the second race, Di Grassi earned more than enough points to overtake his rival Sebastien Buemi. Congratulations Lucas, you earned it!

To be fair, the weekend was absolutely disastrous for Sebastien Buemi, the man who beat Lucas for the championship by one point last year. A crash took Buemi out in the first race and he was disqualified due to this car being underweight. In the Sunday race, Buemi got caught in the opening laps’ madness and fell all the way to the back due to a broken rear-tyre guard which got him a black-and-orange flag. Despite the piece falling off by itself, Buemi was ordered into the pits regardless by his team, ruining his race for good.

A slim consolation for Buemi is that his team Renault eDams claims the Constructors’ Championship for the third year in a row, as Di Grassi and his team-mate Daniel Abt didn’t score enough points in the Sunday race to put their team on top. However, Buemi is understandably disappointed, having dominated most of the season and losing out to a combination of bad luck and his own absence from two races (the New York rounds when Buemi raced at WEC).

I missed the Saturday race unfortunately, but Techeetah were on the ball once again with Jean-Eric Vergne second and his team-mate Stephane Sarazzin third. The Sunday race was a furious battle between Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist and Jean-Eric Vergne. In the end, Vergne took the race victory, making this his first in the series. Rosenqvist was second, dropping off Sam Bird from the third position of the drivers’ championship. The third place went to Bird’s team-mate, Jose Maria Lopez.

Championship Top-3 (end of the season):

  1. Lucas Di Grassi, 181 points (Abt-Schaeffler)
  2. Sebastien Buemi, 157 points (Renault eDams)
  3. Felix Rosenqvist, 124 points (Mahindra)