The Ratchet & Clank film is not getting a theatrical release in Finland, and this is why it bums me out…

RatchetAndClankMovieRainmaker Entertainment’s Ratchet & Clank movie, based on the popular game series by Insomniac Games, will be hitting theatres globally this week. However, some Ratchet fans, especially those living in the Nordics, might have noticed that the movie is not getting released at all theatrically in a notably large number of countries. For whatever reason, the movie is not getting a release in a vast number of Nordic countries. The Swedish distributor Scanbox holds the Nordic distribution rights for the movie though whether the choice to not push the film in theatres is their own or someone else’s, the situation seems depressingly similar to what happened to the fifth Resident Evil and the second Silent Hill movies back in 2012.

Now, I’m not really a Ratchet & Clank fan myself as I never played the games, but I definitely have an interest to see this film. Rainmaker is also responsible for the up-coming Sly Cooper film adaption (at the present slated for late 2016 or, more likely, 2017) which I personally find a lot more interesting. However, it would seem to me that Ratchet & Clank’s success might also decide whether the Sly Cooper movie ever actually sees the light of day. If you’re wondering why I’m so worried about the Sly movie, it’s because we haven’t really heard anything new about it since 2014 and, even more worryingly, the Ratchet & Clank film was still being slated for 2015 back then.

While I don’t doubt that there might be a legitimate financial reason for not releasing the film in cinemas in the Nordic countries (save for Iceland, where the film is getting released by Sena), I would have wanted to have seen the movie myself if for no other reason than to show my support for the up-coming Sly movie. It’s of course entirely possible that the film will make enough at the box-office to secure Rainmaker’s future film plans – but I obviously would want to do my part for supporting the film. My only solace in all of this is that Scanbox does intend to release the film on home-media (a Swedish release date is slated for August) so at least I’ll eventually have a chance to see the movie, even if it’s not in a theatre.

Beyond this rather depressing bit of video-game movie news, this year does seem otherwise promising for up-coming video-game to film adaptions. The Angry Birds movie is hitting theatres in Finland next month and the Warcraft movie will come out this summer. Looking forward to those at least…

