General Thoughts On Things

Here’s just a general thoughts posts, because it’s my damn blog and I can do whatever I want…

Section 1: Gaming a.k.a. Guess who’s finally getting a Wii U?

WiiUIt’s been a long time coming but Wednesday is the day I’m finally gonna get a Wii U. I’m getting the Nintendo Land pack-in set along with New Super Mario Bros. U and Injustice: Gods Among Us. It should come as no surprise that I loved New Super Mario Bros. Wii but I also loved Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe and I’m waiting eagerly to play this newest DC fighting game. Beyond that and the Let’s Plays I’ve done, I really haven’t had the energy to play much of anything. I play a little bit of older games from time to time, but I think the Wii U will be the kick in the butt I need to finally get my gaming feel back on.

The Let’s Plays are coming fine and you should check out my YouTube channel for those.

Section 2: Movies

Shockingly, I have not been able to drag myself to the movies once this year. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been watching movies – I’ve just been focused on older films and stuff that’s already come out. I finally plan to kick off my movie watching season this year with Iron Man 3. I think I got a little lazy last year, because my friend had free tickets, so apart from Skyfall, I didn’t have to pay to see any movies myself. I will endeavour this year to go see at least one or two movies which aren’t sequels, comic book or novel adaptations. The good thing about not having gone to the cinema in a while is that the trailers will give me some choices to consider.

Most recently I acquired the original Karate Kid, Forrest Gump and High Anxiety on DVD (yes, I still buy DVDs – I just don’t care to pay extra for Blu-Ray). High Anxiety was good, but is not gonna make my Top-5 Mel Brooks movies list. However, I’ve never seen the original Karate Kid, so expect a new Original vs. Remake blog in the future (and for anyone pondering, the remake is good but I still wanna see the original for comparison’s sake).

Section 3: Formula Ones & The Bull-Shit Mill

Robert Kubica, circa 2010

Robert Kubica, circa 2010

I haven’t posted a lot of stuff on Formula One as of late, since there really isn’t anything worth commenting on. Everyone still seems to think Webber is leaving Red Bull at the end of the season*, people keep going on and on about the tyres this year**  and people seem to think Heikki Kovalainen is finally coming back to Caterham*** .

The only rumour even mildly worth my interest is Robert Kubica’s possible return to F1. Last year, he already announced that he would probably not return since his original arm-injury, which forced him out of the sport in 2011 and 2012, hadn’t been healing properly despite multiple surgeries. A rumour is going wild right now about Kubica maybe testing for Mercedes GP. This begs the question however, what about the f***ing arm-injury? Is it healed? Can Kubica operate an F1 car? Robert has been on the road, but in the World Rally Championship. The physical strain of an F1 car is in a league of its own by comparison, so I’m having a hard time imagining Kubica just miraculously healing and driving in the Formula Ones again.

Pleas note though that nothing would make me happier than to see Robert in the cockpit of an F1 car again. The guy was one of the most talented drivers on the grid. All I’m saying is that I don’t want to get my hopes up when it turns out Kubica’s arm is preventing him from racing.

* I still don’t see why he should or why would Red Bull want to let him go. ** I already moaned and groaned plenty about this when Pirelli became the sole tyre manufacturer for F1, so I don’t really want to do the whole song and dance again. *** Did the money just fall from the sky all of a sudden or did Heikki literally pull it out of his ass?

Section 4: Top-10s & YouTube & Stuff

So right now, my He-Man Season 2 Reviews are coming along. A lot smoother than last year, though writing scripts is still a drag and I end up repeating the same words a lot (I’ve probably done that in this blog too, haven’t I). I really like the selection of episodes I have this year, though a part of me would have wanted to make a Top-10 and Bottom-10 list for the second season to pick up some of the slack.

Anyway, I’m also thinking about after the He-Man reviews. I have been thinking about redoing one of my most important Top-10s with new entries and full-on video footage. I’m of course referring to my Top-10 Nintendo 64 games list. The list is long over-due for an update. It’s not just a little dated in its style, but also a few entries on the list really need repositioning and at least one is going to be falling off completely. Like I said though, I’m thinking of redoing the list after the He-Man Season 2 Reviews, so for now the old one is staying online…

