Fall of Horror – post-poned

Should have made this post a while back already. Unfortunately, it seems that I won’t be able to see either the new Silent Hill or the new Resident Evil movies until next year. What happened was that either the production company or the Nordic distributor for both of these films decided not to have a Nordic release of the movies (this includes Sweden, Norway and possibly Denmark and Iceland).

Understandably, I’m more than a little pissed off. Firstly, as a fan of the Resident Evil movie series, I’m pissed off. After the somewhat disappointing Afterlife, I was really curious to see what direction Retribution would take the franchise, but now I have to wait for the DVD/Blu-Ray release before I get to find out (which is all fine and dandy because I like having the commentary on hand for once I’m finished watching the movie anyway). In addition, despite not seeing a theatrical release in these few very important European markets (and yes, I’m not the only person pissed off about this) the film has already grossed almost as much as the last film at the box-office. So kudos on Paul W.S. Anderson, I guess.

However, I’m even more pissed off about Silent Hill: Revelation not being released over here. The first Silent Hill is the best video-game movie out there and I hate the fact that my long wait for a sequel has been made even longer. The only solace in this matter is perhaps deducible from the fact that I left the 3D out of the film’s title. At least on DVD or Blu-Ray (whichever I end up getting) I wont have to endure the horrid 3D glasses experience.

So yeah, this is all very disappointing so you’ll have to wait to hear my opinions on it. On a related note, Wreck-it Ralph also will only be released in Finland in early February, so there’s a third video-game film I’m missing out on right now.

