The Fall of Horror 2012: Silent Hill and Resident Evil sequels on following months!

Video-Game Movie Fans really have something to rejoice over this Autumn. Two video-game movie sequels are hitting the theatres on following months…

This September Resident Evil: Retribution, the fifth movie of the RE film-franchise created by Paul W.S. Anderson will hit the theatres, once again directed by Anderson. Although I was a bit disappointed with his last RE film, Afterlife, The Three Musketeers re-instilled some faith in me, as well as the return of some actors who have not been in the film series since the first movie. It’s still going to be in 3D, which I’m not wild about, but I’ll bear it if there will not be a 2D showing of the film in my home-town.

However, I was even more surprised when I found out that Silent Hill, unquestionably the best video-game movie, is also getting its long-belated sequel in the form of Silent Hill: Revelation. Better yet, the film is going to be a straight follow-up to the first film with Rhada Mitchel and Sean Bean returning as Rose and Chris Da Silva along with Deborah Kara Unger as the creepy Dahlia Gillespie. Perhaps following on the note from the RE films, the protagonist of Revelation is going to be a character from the games: Heather Mason, the protagonist of Silent Hill 3. However, the director is different and of course it’s also going to be in 3D, but since the Silent Hill movie was so good I’ve desperately hoped for a sequel and now it’s just come out of the blue, I’m not gonna complain. As it will be a follow-up, I wont expect it to rise quite to the same level as the first movie but as long as they’ll give it a passable story and the same creepy and disturbing visual treatment as the first film, I’ll be fully satisfied.

Looking forward to a great Fall of Horror…

