Donkey Kong Country Returns & MI2:SE

My interest in video-games has been officially reinvigorated. Donkey Kong Country Returns is being developed by Retro-Studios, the people behind the Metroid Prime Trilogy. My hat’s off to them, they brought Metroid back to life and I certainly am looking forward to the revival of the DKC franchise. Having said that I’m still a little sad there hasn’t been a proper 3D DK game since Donkey Kong 64, which in my view was a lot better than people make it out to be. Well as long as DKCR combines the things I loved about the old DKC titles: good levels, good music and good characters I’ll have nothing to complain about.

There’s been some new footage of the up-coming Zelda game at E3 – but as always I want to stay in the dark as much as possible until the game actually comes out because I don’t want any surprises spoiled.

Also, Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge – Special Edition‘s release date has been announced as  July 7. Looking forward to it. I was already pretty excited to hear you could now control Guybrush with just the analogue controller and that you could play the game with the old-school graphics but with the new voice-over. However, they’ve also included a totally new commentary with the trio of writers who made the original games: Ron Gilbert, Dave Grossman and Tim Schafer. Kudos, can’t wait for the game to arrive on Xbox Live.

